International Max Planck Research School for Interface Controlled Materials for Energy Conversion (IMPRS SURMAT)

Type of Funding: Foundation Funding, International Max Planck Research School


The International Max Planck Research School for Surface and Interface Engineering in Advanced Materials (IMPRS-SurMat) is a structured three-year doctoral programme that gives outstanding students from Germany and abroad the possibility to pursue a PhD. It provides a unique combination of excellent research conditions plus an intensive and interdisciplinary teaching program. The working language is English.

The research focuses on questions centered on surfaces and interfaces of advanced materials. In this context all projects within the IMPRS-SurMat are interdisciplinary - chemists, physicists, material scientists and engineers work together and the approach to the research topics can be experimental as well as theoretical by modelling and simulation.

The school is a cooperative effort from two Max Planck Institutes and one university all located in North Rhine-Westphalia in the west of Germany.

After the successful completion the doctoral degree is conferred by the partner university. In addition the graduates receive a certificate by the IMPRS-SurMat.

Project Website

Contact Person at UA Ruhr:
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Dehm, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung
Prof. Dr. Jörg Neugebauer, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung

UA Ruhr Researchers:
Prof. Dr. Gerd Bacher, University of Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr. Ralf Drautz, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Eggeler, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Alexander Hartmaier, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Axel Lorke, University of Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alfred Ludwig, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Martin Muhler, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuhmann, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Christof Schulz, University of Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr. Eckhard Spohr, University of Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr. Ingo Steinbach, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Prof. Dr. Andreas Wieck, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Dr. Hartmut Wiggers, University of Duisburg-Essen

« back